Volume One

Volume One began as a celebration of those who are ambitious and creative in their own way. Creativity is not solely bound to artistic endeavours but is a facet that we all are capable of and can apply to our everyday lives. It is about questioning things, being inquisitive and exploratory; it is about finding practical and positive solutions and utilising foresight. Inline with this, sustainability and responsible practice emerged as a common thread connecting the stories and articles together. This wasn't a predetermined theme but purely a manifestation of the values and interests of Another Escape and the team behind the magazine.

Volume-1-Inside-Pages-1
Volume-1-Inside-Pages-2
Volume-1-Inside-Pages-11
Volume-1-Inside-Pages-9

This volume includes

• A discussion on how we may better use our city spaces for social interaction & urban innovation
• The principals of permaculture with Britain’s leading expert Mike Feingold
• A visit to a boat builder who crafts houseboats from recycling old vehicles in a house boat community on the English south coast.
• A trek to Tipi Valley, West Wales, to unearth the settlement’s motivations for living outside a conventional way of life
• A cycling trip to Scandinavia that inspired a social project that enables people living on the fringes the mobility they need to explore the city
• Photographer Marzena Skubatz investigates notions of escapism in Iceland's Eastfjords where she becomes immersed within the natural world
• Reflecting on the obstacles of responsible and sustainable practice in design with textile designer Sophie Fox
• The journey of Leva Kwestany, a film maker who has up-rooted her life and now lives on the road
• Innovation in the kitchen with chef Shane Jordan creatively dealing with food waste
• In conversation with new age cartographers, Herb Lester

On The Road

Everything is Possible. Nothing is for Sure.

Read more

Sweat Equity

Boneshaker magazine's James Lucas speaks about how the Bristol Bike Project – which he co-founded with friend Colin Fan – has had a positive impact on the local community within Bristol, UK.

Read more

Something New from Old

Using inventive solutions Hamish and the houseboat community in which he resides build and restore houseboats by repurposing old vehicles and second-hand items.

Read more

One Week in Moscow

"It was supposed to be one month in Russia. We had no specific theme except to document our journey and take pleasure in exploring a foreign land together."

Read more

Contributors

Adam Bronkhorst adambronkhorst.com
Daisy Hardman daisyhardman.com
Daniel Cooper daniel-cooper.com
Erin Buckley erinbuckley.co.uk
Gabriella Rizzello
James Lucas boneshakermag.com
Joe Hemming
joehemmingillustration.tumblr.com
Leva Kwestany
Louise Wyatt louisewyatt.com
Martina Landucci martinalanducci.it
Marzena Skubatz marzenaskubatz.com
Mubashir Khan zooetrope365.wordpress.com
Murray Ballard murrayballard.com
Nick Ballon nickballon.com
Pio De Rose pioderose.com
Samuel Bradley samuelbradley.com
Sophie Fox sophiefox.co.uk

Featured

Amanda Bluglass www.amandabluglass.co.uk
The Bristol Bike Project www.thebristolbikeproject.org
Danny Cooke www.dannycooke.co.uk
Herb Lester Associates herblester.com
Miniclicks miniclick.co.uk
Super + Super HQ supersuperhq.com

Product Information

120 inside pages, advertisement free
265mm x 200mm
300gsm matte laminate cover
140gsm inside pages
Printed on Edixion Challenger FSC
Euro Eco-label paper

Published in Bristol, UK.
Printed by Taylor Brothers, Bristol, UK.

BUY NOW
SUBSCRIBE
FIND A STOCKIST

Volume One— Spring/Summer 2013

Sold out

Social Interaction & Urban Innovation Exploring • Understanding the Principals of Permaculture with Britain's Leading Expert • A Trek to Tipi Valley, West Wales, to Understand the Settlement's Residents' Motivations for Living Outside Social Constructs and a Conventional Lifestyle • Innovation in the Kitchen with a Chef Creatively Dealing with Food Waste • Visiting a Houseboat Community and Boat Builder who Builds Houseboats by recycling Old Vehicles